Nishimura Naoaki, seeking the music in space

To go directly to the interview, click here / インタビューに直接行くには、ここをクリックしてください

Nishimura Naoaki is revolutionizing the urban world in many ways. After listening to him, I look at the window shops and the grey walls of the building with a new eye. What is their to see ? But mostly, what is there to hear ?

There is not a lot of thing to know about Nishimura Naoaki. He has a soundcloud where are posted pieces of experimental music, inspired by ambient music, aleatoric music and John Cage (There is a video on his Youtube channel where mushrooms are listening to Cheap Imitation by John Cage). He is a sound design and a composer for films and TV movies, and he is working on a educational TV show for the NHK called Sekai wo Play about musical games directed to a young audience.

May the 7th of 2018, he released an album called Music for Acoustic Sines. For a 21 minutes and 14 seconds duration, field recording of an urban Japan (Passing Thru, Delights), sometimes on the country side (Nocturne #1, Air Check), sometimes intimate (Spuit), with recording of instruments like musical saw, piano’s ritournel, acoustic guitar, japanese speaches and water drops… A confrontation with past events, of which we will feel nostalgia by the sound.

Cover of his album Music for Acoustic Sines you can find on his bandcamp page.


If his album is a nugget of calm and softness, his work exposed on Twitter really catch me and want to write about his way of doing things.
In the hasard of urbanism, nobody sees it. But some people, who past many hours the head in their digital audio workstation, can see those informations. MIDI informations. For those who don’t know what is MIDI, it’s the short term for Musical Instrumental Digital Interface. It’s a communication protocol for informations created in ‘80 mostly used in the creation of music on computer. It’s possible to edit a MIDI file to tell that, at a precise moment, a note will be played at this pitch, with this intensity and this duration. Then the file will be read by a VST, a virtual instrument.

I discovered his work with a video gone viral on Twitter. The action takes place in station Awajicho on the ligne Marunouchi of Tokyo’s subway. Nishimura Naoaki uses pictures of the tiled walls of the subway hallway and convert the tiles into MIDI files to be read with a virtual vibraphone. There is no alteration of the music range, we can listen to the twelve tones, for a funny result !

In some traduction of cited tweet, it seems that the tiles have been put in a willingful musical way. But Nishimura Naoaki doesn’t stop his work here. Here, he translates the wall of a japanese bank, sounding like Iannis Xenakis.

We can see in a further tweet the work on the piano roll of his DAW.

We can see an enormous work passing from a format to an other format, a picture to a MIDI file, to a video. Don’t lose an opportunity to produce a note, it would be too bad.
In this translation system, the brick is a great element because it has the same shape as a MIDI file, and it’s easier to count time and put the brick into the piano roll.
Here, Nishimura Naoaki translate the rain drops on screen door, then use a synthesizer to interprete it musically.

In an other system, he uses a picture of bird read like it is a musical sheet.

What makes me vibrate the most in his work, it’s this contrast between fun and seriousness of the music emerging from it. Behind the humorous scene of the rollercoster of note in the subway, there is a sincere form of poesy, in a brut way, coming from the work of an other person.

Can we translate all the world in music ? I want to believe that yes, it would be possible to create a new way of playing music. Putting a band, an orchestra, a solo artist, in front of a wall and start the music, in a new lecture of space in time. We can see in Nishimura Naoaki’s work a use of the MIDI technology, or sometime the musical sheet, to create a translation of an event into music in a funny way. But what could be heard and seen if we dropped the bulky legacy of occidental music ? What could happen if you used the technics from a Yasunao Tone ? A John Cage ? A Yoko Ono ? The funny ones from Fluxus ?

Anagram for Strings by Yasunao Tone, an experimental music sheet done in the Fluxus movement where we draw lines to create a new lecture of music.

Did we forget to play music ? The question would rather be, did we forget to play with the music ?
We could draw draft lines in the streets and read the pattern like on a musical sheet. Draw lines in a quarry and then throw stones in the air to see what melodies the hasard can create. Write a musical lexixon with houses walls, sorted by architects, urbanistic movements, facade renovation companies, graff artists, glaziers, artists of the degradation of public goods…
Give back some magic to our grey walls, imagine the potential of a bird shit on a red bricks house, see the landscape and imagine that by playing with perspectives an unique symphony is possible at your window...



Interview with Nishimura Naoaki

During the writing of this article, I had the opportunity to interview Nishimura Naoaki.
Thanks again to him for taking the time to answer my questions.
(Japanese translation of the questions and answers courtesy of Nishimura Naoaki, thank you so much for this !)



Rrrrrose : This is a bit of a classic question but, what is your history with music ?
-これはちょっと古典的な質問ですが、あなたの音楽の経歴を教えてください。

Nishimura Naoaki : First of all, In my mid-teens, I started playing the piano, guitar, and making music on the computer. After that, I went to art college, and at that time I was active in making music in alternative rock and drone music bands, and forming a unit of music influenced by the laptop-based electronica of the 90s~early 00s.
As a college student, I also provided music and sound effects for my filmmaking friends. And by extension, for a few years after graduation, I worked as a sound designer/engineer with an experimental style filmmaker. There, I got up close with contemporary composers (in the context of classical music) at work.
At the same time, I also worked as a multi-instrumentalist, playing electronic instruments, toy instruments, musical saws...and other instruments in concerts for children in welfare facilities that included music therapy. At that time, through communication with children, I developed the fundamental thought of "What is music?".
After these experiences, I opened a social networking account a couple of years ago and started to create and release my own works again. And here I am.
私は10代の中頃にピアノやギターを弾き始め、PCによる音楽づくりも始めました。その後、美術の大学に進学し、その頃はオルタナティブ・ロックやドローンのバンドで音楽を作ったり、90~00年代初期のラップトップベースのエレクトロニカから影響を受けた音楽ユニットを組んだりして活動していました。
学生の頃には映像を作っている友人達のために音楽や効果音を提供することもしていて、卒業後数年は音響効果や録音のスタッフとして実験的な作風の映画監督と協働しました。そこでは現代音楽の作曲家の仕事にも間近に触れていました。
それと同時期に、私は福祉施設等で行われる子供たちのための音楽療法の要素も持ったコンサートに参加して、電子楽器やおもちゃ楽器、ミュージカルソーといった楽器の演奏の仕事もしていました。その頃、子供たちとのコミュニケーションを通して「音楽とは何だろう?」といった根源的な考え方を養ったとも思います。
そのような経験を経て、2~3年ほど前にSNSアカウントを開設し、再び自らの作りたいものを作って発表するようになりました。そして今に至る…という具合です。


Rrrrrose : Music for Acoustic Sines is a beautiful album mixing field recordings and acoustic instruments. I was wondering what was your process to create an album like this. Did you start from recording your environment then record your instruments ? The other way ?
-“Music for Acoustic Sines "は、フィールドレコーディングとアコースティック楽器をミックスした美しいアルバムです。このようなアルバムを制作するためのプロセスを教えてください。環境音を録音することから始めて、それから楽器を録音したのでしょうか?他の方法ですか?

Nishimura Naoaki : I'm glad you appreciated the album that way.
I remember that by the time I made this album, I had several simple voice memos of my instrumental performances, and several field recordings of various sounds that I habitually made in my daily life, as well.
Then I took them out like art materials in a desk drawer and combined them to create the piece. Those are all my favorite sounds. After that, I took interactive steps such as retaking the performance and adding new concrete sounds. That's how the process works.
Incidentally, this may be unusual, but in most cases, I used the same handheld type recorder for both instrumental and field recordings, so their meanings were continuous for me, in fact.
In that sense, I think this album is an inextricable package of my own sound life at a certain point in my life.
アルバムをそのように評価してくださり、嬉しいです。
このアルバムの制作までに、私は楽器の演奏を記録した簡単なボイスメモを複数、そして、日々の生活の中で習慣的に行っていた様々なフィールドレコーディングの音源を複数、同じように抱え込んでいたと記憶しています。
そして、それらを机の引き出しの中の画材のように取り出して、組み合わせて作っていきました。それらは全て私のお気に入りの音です。そのあと、演奏のリテイクをしたり、新たに具体音を足したり、といった相互作用的な手順も踏みました。プロセスとしてはそのような感じです。
ちなみにこれは珍しいことかもしれないですが、実はほとんどのケースで、楽器の録音も野外録音も同じ1つのハンディレコーダーを使って行なっていたので、それらの行為は私にとっては地続きだったとも言えます。
そのような意味で、このアルバムにはある時期の私自身の音生活が分かち難くパッケージされていると思います。


Rrrrrose : I saw that you played some John Cage to your mushrooms on your Youtube channel ! John Cage, as an experimental artist, was also an amateur fungologist ! What is your relationship with John Cage's art and philosophy ?
-あなたはYoutubeチャンネルで、きのこにジョン・ケージを聞かせていましたね!ジョン・ケージは、実験的なアーティストであると同時に、アマチュアの菌類学者でもありました。ジョン・ケージの芸術や哲学とあなたの関係は?

Nishimura Naoaki : John Cage is a musician I respect. He's a big influencer, so I'm sure I've had indirect influences unknowingly before then, but the truth is, I was barely aware of him when I first started to derive music from everyday subjects.
Later, when I became aware that my identity included "aleatory" elements I began to study his work systematically (My attempt to grow mushrooms included an intention to understand his inspiration).
The more I learn about him, the more I realize that most of the things I thought I had discovered were pioneered by him. One such example is his idea of "making music out of life itself" or "making every living person an artist".
When I was exposed to his pioneering nature, I was strangely not disappointed, although an ambitious composer might have been disappointed. If anything, I feel affirmed by him that I am free to think. In this sense, I can say that I am a part of his work, or that the idea of aleatoric music itself is like a common property. That seems to be the essence of it.
But lately, I've also been trying not to think about him too much again. For my own. He's a very influential person anyway…
ジョン・ケージは尊敬する音楽家です。彼は影響力のある人物なので、間接的な影響はそれまでにも知らず知らず受けていたと思いますが、実際のところ、私が今のような活動を始めた当初はほとんど彼のことは意識していませんでした。
のちに、自分のアイデンティティに「偶然性」という要素が含まれることを自覚するようになってから、私は改めて体系的に彼の仕事を学び始めました(きのこを育てる試みの中にも、彼のインスピレーションについて理解したいという気持ちが含まれていました)。
ケージのことを学ぶうちに、自分で気付いたことのように思っていたことも大部分は彼が先駆者だったと改めて知ることになります。「生活それ自体を音楽にする」「すべての生活者をアーティストにする」といった彼の思想も、その1つです。
そうした彼の先駆性に触れた時、より野心的な作曲家であれば失望したかもれないですが、私は不思議と悔しさは感じず、どちらかといえば彼によって自由に発想することを肯定される感じがしました。その意味では私も彼の作品の一部といえるか、または偶然性の音楽という発想自体が一種の共有財産のようなものだと言えるのかもしれません。そしてそれがこの種類の音楽の本質のようにも思えます。
しかし、最近はまた、彼のことをあまり考えすぎないようにしようとも心がけています。自分自身のために。とにかく影響力が大きい人です…


Rrrrrose : Your idea to take pictures of spaces (buildings, hallways, shop signs…), graphes and events (birds on electric lines, vegetables on the grounds...) to convert them as musical informations is surprising and fun ! What gave you the idea to do something like that ?
-空間(建物、廊下、お店の看板…)や、グラフ、そして出来事(電線の上の鳥、路上に散らばった野菜…)を撮影して、それを音楽の情報として変換するというあなたのアイデアは、驚きと楽しさに満ちていますね!なぜ、そのようなことを思いついたのでしょうか?

Nishimura Naoaki : The original idea was to create a melody based on the changes in the Japanese eel catch.
At the time I created this, I felt compelled to try and critique, with as much humor as possible, 1) the destruction of the environment, 2) Inadequate awareness of overfishing by the government and consumers, and 3) the absence of musicians writing songs about the current state of the eel (In 2018, I uploaded this piece without any idea who would see it, like bottle mail).
In those days, I was looking at music and everything in a kind of metaphysical way, and I was also interested in the thought process of contemporary music, so I naturally came up with the idea of putting data to music, while incorporating the techniques of Messiaen.
I think my motivation at that time changed its shape, and since then, I have developed the habit of seeing non musical things around me as materials for music.
Perhaps my experience in creating music using an algorithmic approach with programming languages such as PureData, and my continued work with sound in musical softwares, may not be unrelated to this idea.
そもそものきっかけは「ニホンウナギの漁獲量の推移からメロディを作る」という試みでした。2018年頃のことです。これを作った当時、私は環境が破壊されていること、国や消費者の乱獲への認識の不十分さ、そしてウナギの現状について歌を作っている音楽家がいない、といったことをユーモアを伴いつつ批評してみたいと感じていました(この作品は当時、ボトルメールのようにあてもなくネット上に投稿したのを覚えています)。
当時の私は音楽やあらゆるものがある種、形而上的に見え始めていて、また現代音楽の思考法に興味を抱いていた頃でもあったので、メシアンの技法なども取り入れつつ、データを音楽にすることを自然と思いつきました。この時のモチベーションが形を変えて、それ以降、身の回りの音楽以外のものが音楽の素材に見えるようになってきたのだと思います。
私がそれまでPureDataといったプログラミング言語でアルゴリズミックに音を扱ってきたことや、長い間音楽アプリケーションで作業してきたこともまた、そうした着想と無関係ではないのかなとも考えています。


Rrrrrose : By extension to the last question, this work, as fun as it is, question a lot the place where you can make music emerge from. Is that a will for you to show that music is accessible everywhere ?
-先ほどの質問の延長線上にあるのですが、こうした作品は楽しいだけではなく、音楽を生み出す場所を多く問いかけています。それは、音楽がどこでもアクセス可能であることを示したいというあなたの意志なのでしょうか?

Nishimura Naoaki : That's an interesting question for me.
When you offered me this interview, you said, "We do not play that much with music this days" and "Your pieces recalling of that lack of fun in music" I also noticed a lot in your words.
I'm now aware of the themes you mention, namely the ubiquity of music and its manifestation to others. I think it would be fun if my personal daydreams could work a kind of shareware in the minds of others.
But I am also a seeker, and rather than having such a strong will from the beginning, I can say that I also have noticed many things while discovering music each time.
And I usually post them on Twitter, I think the wonderful thing about social media is that it enables me and others to share these small discoveries.
それは興味深い質問です。
このインタビューのオファーを下さった際、あなたに “We do not play that much with music this days” そして “Your pieces recalling of that lack of fun in music” と言っていただきましたが、その言葉にも私自身、多くを気づかされました。
私は今ではあなたが言うようなテーマ、つまり音楽の偏在とそれを他者に示すことについて意識することもあります。私個人の白昼夢のような錯視が、他の人の心の中で一種のシェアウェアのように働くとしたら楽しいと思います。
その一方で私自身も探求者の一人であり、初めからそのような強い意志を持っていたというよりも、その都度音楽を発見しながら色々なことに気付いてきたとも言えます。
また、私は普段それらをTwitterに投稿していますが、ソーシャルメディアが素敵なところはそうした小さな発見を私と他者とで共有できるところかな、とも思っています。


Rrrrrose : This approach of music by playing with the emergence of music from somewhere else than the stage or the music band makes me think about the work of Fluxus artists like La Monte Young, Nam June Paik or Yoko Ono. They had a conceptual approach of music, by destroying the instruments, making recipes of music for everyone to do, make musical jokes, challenging the sacred concepts of musical instruments and the stage… Do those experiments talk to you in any way ?
-このように、舞台や楽団とは異なる場所から音楽が生まれてくることを利用した音楽のアプローチは、ラ・モンテ・ヤング、ナム・ジュン・パイク、オノ・ヨーコといったフルクサスのアーティストの作品を思い起こさせます。彼らは、楽器を破壊したり、誰もができる音楽のレシピを作ったり、音楽的なジョークを言ったり、楽器や舞台の神聖な概念に挑戦したりと、音楽に対してコンセプチュアルなアプローチをしていました...。 それらの実験は、あなたに何かを語りかけていますか?

Nishimura Naoaki : La Monte Young, Nam June Paik, Yoko Ono, they are all artists I love.
This is similar to my earlier answer about Cage, but since I have been creating as I do now, I have come to truly appreciate the greatness of their work.
I am aware of the tendency that my works sometimes lean towards the Logos element, partly because I am motivated by "observation". On the other hand, many of the works of Fluxus can be seen as poetry, including the joking ones. Nowadays, I am attracted to such beauty.
I am also interested in the ambivalence of their love/hate relationship with Western art music, as you mentioned in your example. Because their attitude seems to be suggestive for us musicians today, when the barriers between classical and popular music are disappearing.
Many of their works are ephemeral, and many of them have not been preserved in form, but I would like to know more about them. Or perhaps that desire to interact with them could lead to a my new creation.
ラ・モンテ・ヤング、ナムジュン・パイク、ヨーコ・オノ、皆大好きなアーティストです。
これは先ほどのケージについての回答とも似ていますが、私は今のような創作をするようになってから、彼らの仕事の偉大さを真の意味で理解するようになりました。
私は「観測」ということを1つの動機としていることもあって、私のアウトプットは時にロゴス的な要素が強くなる傾向もあると自覚しています。その一方で、彼らフルクサスの多くの作品は、冗談めいたものも含めて、詩として見ることが可能です。今では私はそうした美しさに惹かれています。
また、あなたが例に挙げたような、彼らの西洋の芸術音楽に対しての愛憎、アンビバレンスにも興味があります。今日、クラシックやポップスといった垣根が意味をなさなくなりつつある時代の音楽家にとって、彼らの姿勢は示唆的に思えるからです。
彼らの作品は刹那的なものが多く、形が残っていないものも多いですが、それについてもっとよく知りたいと思っています。あるいは、彼らと接してみたいというその気持ちが、新しい創作につながる可能性もあるかもしれません。


Rrrrrose : It seems on your Twitter pinned video (I’m talking about that video https://twitter.com/nsmrnoak/status/1183380045185699840 beginning at 1:53 ) that you organised workshop to play instruments with videos/pictures. Is fun an important part of your music process ?
-Twitterにアップされているこの動画(https://twitter.com/nsmrnoak/status/1183380045185699840 1:53からの部分のことです)を見ると、動画や写真を使って楽器を演奏するワークショップを開催しているようですね。あなたの音楽活動において、“楽しみ” は重要な要素ですか?

Nishimura Naoaki : This video is from my first concert. Here I performed using  signboards (which are very familiar to people living in Japan) that show the weekly business schedule of clinics in town, and using the symbols in the signboards such as ●, X, and ▲ as percussion notes. It is music in seven time signatures, with seven beats for the seven squares that make up a week.
At that time, I had been posting small pieces on Twitter and was aware that I was giving small laughs to the viewers. However, I didn't know if I could make the audience happy at a live concert as well.
So, I came up with this performance with the idea of creating tension, laughter, and a little intellectual joy by focusing on the aleatory elements of familiar symbols and performing them in real time as a challenging piece of music in a highly irregular time signature (like Stravinsky’s “Rite of Spring”). It's always the same, but I want the audience to enjoy the show, especially when we meet face to face.
Seriousness is necessary for music, and I believe in it, but at the same time, I think it is my kind of a habit to look for fun.
この動画は私の最初のコンサートの模様ですね。ここでは町の病院が営業スケジュールを示す看板(それは日本の生活者にとってはとても見慣れたものです)を用いて、その中の●や×、▲といった記号を打楽器の音符に見立てる、という演奏を行いました。一週間を構成する7マスを7拍とする、7拍子の音楽です。
私はそれまでツイッターで小品を投稿していて、見る人に小さな可笑しみを感じさせていた自覚はあったのですが、ライブでも同様にお客さんを楽しませることができるか、わかりませんでした。
そこで、皆が見慣れた記号がもつ偶然性に注目し、それを難易度の高い変拍子の曲として("春の祭典" のような
…?)リアルタイムで演じることで、緊張と笑い、そして少しの知的喜びを生みたいと考えて、このパフォーマンスを考え出しました。常にそうですが、特に顔を合わせるライブではお客さんに楽しんでもらえたらなと思います。
音楽にはシリアスな面が必要で、私はそれを信じていますが、一方で楽しさを求めてしまうのは私の癖なのだとも思います。


Rrrrrose : One of your little video on the metro hallway became viral on Twitter. I was wondering if those brick lines on the walls were thought by the architect to be musical. Do you know if there is a story behind those brick lines ?
-地下鉄の廊下を撮影した短い動画がツイッターで話題になりましたね。私は、壁にあるタイルのラインは、建築家が音楽的に考えたものではないかと思いました。あのタイルの線には何か背景にストーリーがあるのでしょうか?

Nishimura Naoaki : I'm happy you talked about those tiles.
I suspect that the designer had a rhythmic, if not a melodic, intention in mind.
One thing is clear, even with all that tweet going viral, I didn't get any wisdom out of it! I was secretly hoping that I could have a dialogue with the tile designer…
But it's more fun to be mysterious, isn't it?
あのタイルについて訊いてくださって嬉しいです。
私は、設計者が旋律とは言わないまでも、リズム的な意図を持っていたことは確かなのではないかと推測しています。
しかし1つはっきりしていることは、あれだけツイートが拡散されても私はそれについて知恵を得ることが全くなかったということです。タイルの設計者と対話できるのでは、と内心期待もしていたのですが。
でも、謎めいたことがある方が楽しい気もします。


Rrrrrose : On your Tumblr, you say you work for an educational TV program called Sekai wo Play, can you talk a little bit about what it is ?
-ご自身のTumblrのプロフィール上に「せかいをプレイ」という教育番組を担当されていると書かれていますが、どのような番組なのか教えてください。

Nishimura Naoaki : The Sekai wo Play (It means “play the world” in English) program is a part of a larger educational program that usually has a mission to present mainly how to play games or crafts to children by NHK.
In my section, I show a one-minute video that plays with a slightly fanciful sense of perception, showing how to imagine sounds from the scenery around us, and suggesting new ways to listen to soundscapes.
One of my favorites is a short video about the colorful canned candies called "Drops" in Japan. When the candy balls come out of the can, each color makes its own unique sound, reminding us of the taste of the candy ball and creating a harmony by chance.
My hope is that the children who see this program will be able to enjoy the world from a new perspective.
"せかいをプレイ" というプログラムは、普段は主に子供たちにゲームや工作といった遊びをプレゼンテーションするというミッションを持つより大枠の教育番組のなかの1コーナーです。
私のコーナーでは、身の回りの景色から音を想像するということを映像で示したり、サウンドスケープに耳を傾ける新しい方法を提案したりといった、少し空想的な感覚の遊びを1分間の映像として見せています。
私が特に気に入っているものは、日本で "ドロップス" と呼ばれる色とりどりの缶入りキャンディをテーマにした短い映像です。それは缶から出てきた飴玉が、色毎に固有の音を発し、その味を思い起こさせながら、偶然のハーモニーを奏でるというものです。
この番組を見た子供たちが、新しい視点で世界を楽しんでくれたらいいなと思っています。


Rrrrrose : Do you have future projects you want to talk about ?
-今後のプロジェクトのことでお話ししたいことはありますか?

Nishimura Naoaki : Right now, I just want to make a good album.
I mentioned earlier that aleatoric music is like a common property, and for this reason, I am currently finding it difficult to sublimate it into my own work (I can see now why Cage's successors have been few and far between).
Anyway, I'm not going to think too much, I'm going to relax as much as possible and make the music I want to listen to.
今は、とにかく良いアルバムを作りたいと思っています。
先ほど偶然性の音楽のことを共有財産のようだと答えましたが、それゆえに、これを自分の作品として昇華することはなかなか難しいとも感じているのですが(ケージの後継者がほとんど現れない理由が今の自分にはわかる気がします)。
ともあれ、あまり考えすぎず、なるべくリラックスして自分の聴きたい音楽を作るつもりです。


Rrrrrose : Do you have anything you want to add about your works and musical philosophy ?
-あなたの作品や音楽哲学について、最後に何か付け加えたいことはありますか?

Nishimura Naoaki : These days, my posts are being seen by many different people and there are various unique responses. And I had the opportunity of meetings and conversations with some wonderful people too. It's a slow change, but I think it will have a positive impact on my own view of music. I am grateful for that.
Now all I have to do is to continue to go about my daily life without hesitation.
最近、投稿が様々な方の目に触れ、色々とユニークな反応があったり、素敵な方と出会えたり会話する機会もありました。それはゆっくりとした変化だと思いますが、私自身の音楽観にも良い影響をもたらすように思います。それはありがたいことです。
あとは引き続き、自分の日々の生活を淡々と送っていくのみです。

You can follow and see his work via those links :
-Twitter
-Tumblr
-Bandcamp